Three, Two, One…Takeoff!!

Since fall of this past school year I have been anxiously awaiting today, the day that I will be flying to Peru. Although I am so excited to get on the plane tonight, I’d be lying to you if I said I wasn’t nervous. The idea of being in a foreign country that speaks a different language all by myself is nerve-racking. I have a reoccurring dream of stepping off my plane in Lima and forgetting every bit of Spanish I know. Although this won’t happen, I’m sure I will encounter other speed bumps along my way in this two month-long journey. I have finally gotten over the first speed bump of packing. I am used to having to pack and move all of my stuff 3,000 miles across the country (Seattle, WA to Providence, RI), but that is when I am working with 3 suitcases or more. The concept of packing two months worth of clothes into one medium-sized suitcase was new to me. But here I am suitcase in hand ready to go to the airport after many tries at the right amount of clothes to bring. 

You may be asking yourself, why is Julia going to Peru? I was fortunate enough to receive the Fr. Smith Fellowship, a grant that my school, Providence College, awards to 10 students each summer to study or do service abroad with a Dominican mission. I have been blessed with the opportunity to travel to Chimbote, Peru and work at a maternity and social works clinic there through the mission of the Dominican Sisters of the Grand Rapids. When I traveled to Muhuru Bay, Kenya three years ago with my family and observed a health care clinic there, my passion for global health was lit. Ever since then I have wanted to work in the global health field and help with the delivery of health care in developing countries. Through this amazing opportunity in Peru I will get to work towards my career aspirations and discover my passion even more. 

In less than 24 hours I will be stepping off my plan and arriving in Peru. Until then!

Leave a comment